McKees Rocks DUI Attorney
If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you may not have understood the risks of your actions, especially if you weren’t in a car or drinking alcohol. If so, you need honest answers and strong legal support. You can get both from the McKees Rocks DUI attorney at Wyland Law Group. We know the law and can guide you toward a favorable outcome.
We’re also up front with our clients and answer their legal questions. Two areas where there is a lot of confusion about DUIs is what counts as a motor vehicle and what substances other than alcohol can result in a DUI charge. Let us clear up these questions for you.
What Counts as a Motor Vehicle?
When most people think of DUI charges, they think about their car, truck, or maybe their motorcycle. However, in McKees Rocks and the rest of Pennsylvania, many other forms of transportation count as motor vehicles. If you’re driving any of these motorized vehicles while under the influence of alcohol, you could be charged with a DUI:
- All-terrain vehicles (ATVs)
- Golf carts
- Motorized bicycles
- Motorized lawn mower
- Farm equipment
- Dune buggies
Any transportation device with a motor or a drive train, except a wheelchair, is a motor vehicle.
Note that you don’t actually have to be moving the vehicle to be charged. If you’re sitting in the driver’s seat and have the keys, you can still be charged. However, these cases are hard for the government to prove, and we can defend you zealously.
What About Controlled Substances?
It is also against Pennsylvania law to be under the influence of certain controlled substances to the point that you cannot safely drive. Usually, any amount of the drug is enough that you cannot drive safely, even if you have a prescription. Controlled substances include:
- And more
It can be a challenge for the government to prove cases involving controlled substances. The experienced McKees Rocks DUI lawyers at Wyland Law Group can make your case even harder to prosecute, defending you from the charges.
What Are the Penalties for DUI of Controlled Substances?
The penalties for DUI of controlled substances are the most severe and the same as if you had a blood alcohol level over 0.16%. Assuming this is your first offense, the minimum penalties for this charge are:
- 3 days to 6 months in jail
- 12 Month License suspension
- $1,000 to $5,000
Why Choose Wyland Law Group as Your Defense?
You’re not out of options. Cases involving drugs and unusual motor vehicles may have more defense options than other cases. You need an experienced, dedicated lawyer to help you raise the best defense. At Wyland Law Group, we have the focus and dedication to devise a strategy that will result in your favor.
Whether you have been charged with your first offense or your third, having an experienced attorney on your side is critical to your ability to defend yourself against the government’s allegations. Please contact me for a free consultation by calling 412-710-0013 or by filling out the contact form on this website.