DUI Attorneys Can Help
DUI laws in Pennsylvania can be confusing to say the least. Understanding your DUI rights in Western Pennsylvania can make the difference between a small penalty and a large one. It can also determine whether or not you are able to drive in Alleghany County. Below, we will clear up some common issues related to DUI rights in the Pittsburgh area.
Is Chemical Testing Required?
Here in Pennsylvania, you do have the right to refuse chemical testing. However, you should know that if you refuse to take a chemical or breathalyzer test after being pulled over for suspected impaired driving, the penalties can be severe. Refusal to take the chemical or breathalyzer test carries a mandatory minimum 1-year license suspension, on top of any suspension that accompanies your conviction. In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the police officer must warn you that your license will be suspended upon refusal to submit to chemical testing. The officer must also advise you that, when making your decision, you have no right to speak to a lawyer or anyone else. If you have any further questions about your rights concerning chemical testing, contact a Pittsburgh DUI attorney at Wyland Law Group.
Can I Still Drive With A Suspended License?
You do not necessarily have the right to drive with a suspended license, but there may be options that allow you to continue driving. Speak with an Alleghany County DUI attorney at Wyland Law Group to learn more. You might be able to drive with a suspended license by applying for and obtaining an Ignition Interlock Limited License. This license allows you to operate a vehicle with an Ignition Interlock system (a system that requires you to perform a chemical test and show no traces of alcohol before starting your vehicle). Some requirements for applying include:
Surrendering your license
Paying a nonrefundable fee of $65
Submitting the name of the company that will install your device
If you have additional questions on Ignition Interlock Limited Licenses and how they work, contact a McKees Rocks DUI attorney today.
How Does The Penalty System Work?
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania uses a tiered system for DUI penalties. Each tier is based on blood alcohol concentration (BAC)—Tier 1 being the lowest (general impairment) and Tier 3 being the highest. In addition to tiers, penalties are also based on prior offenses, so that the penalty for the fourth offense is much more severe than that of the first offense. For instance, the fourth offense carries a mandatory imprisonment term of 1 year for Tiers 2 and 3. This penalty system can get confusing for Pennsylvania drivers, which is why it is important to contact a law firm in Western Pennsylvania. Wyland Law Group has a thorough understanding of the DUI penalty system in Pennsylvania. Wyland Law Group is also in good standing with Western Pennsylvania judges, magistrates, prosecutors, and police officers. In short, it is a good firm to have on your side.