Nothing ruins the good feelings following a fun party or lively event like getting pulled over by the police. Regardless of the circumstances, there is no truly justifiable excuse for driving under the influence.
You can eliminate any possibility of injuring yourself or another person, or at least of getting pulled over, with proper planning. If you find yourself under a police officer’s flashlight while under the influence of alcohol, it may cost you more than what you may expect.
You may think that the cost of a DUI in Pennsylvania is solely the fine associated with your blood alcohol concentration level. Still, there are a plethora of hidden fees you may not know about. Wyland Law group is here to share the specifics about the level of DUI offenses and other associated costs of DUI charges. That way, you know how much a DUI in Pennsylvania actually costs.
Levels of DUI Offenses
A DUI in Pennsylvania does not fall under one law that doles out the same punishment for all offenders. The fines and penalties increase depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels and if you’ve had any previous DUI offenses.
In the state of Pennsylvania, the fines can look anything like the following:
General Impairment: .08% to .099% BAC
- On your first offense: $300
- Second: $300 to $2,500
- Third: $500 to $5,000
High BAC: .10% to .159% BAC
- On your first offense: $500 to $5,000
- Second: $750 to $5,000
- Third: $1,500 to $10,000
Highest BAC: .16%+ BAC or presence of drugs
- On your first offense: $1,000 to $5,000
- Second: $1,500 to $10,000
- Third: $2,500 to $10,000
Note that the highest category indicates a presence of drugs. This category encompasses any time a police officer charges you with driving under the influence, not just of illicit substances but of prescription drugs as well.
If you come face-to-face with a DUI in Pennsylvania and massive fines, know that you still have options. As an advocate for our local Pennsylvania community, Wyland Law Group can fight to reduce DUI charges on your behalf.
Other Costs and Considerations
Remember, your expenses may likely extend beyond just your DUI fines. The police may impound your vehicle, costing you time and money to recover it. DUI charges can also raise your auto insurance payments. In addition to these costs, you may be required to attend DUI classes, costing anywhere from $250 up to $3,000, depending on your offense.
If you are charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania, you could have your driver’s license suspended, further exacerbating commuting and working issues, especially since you will need to provide proof of insurance and employment to reobtain your driving privileges.
You will also need to pay a reinstatement fee to receive a new driver’s license at the end of your suspension. Though this fee may not seem comparatively large at $70 in Pennsylvania, you must consider skyrocketing insurance rates as well.
Pennsylvania Defense Attorneys Can Protect You
We do not provide this information to overwhelm or frighten you. Even if your circumstances seem bleak and your finances appear in danger of crumbling, you still have help.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania, Jacob Wyland can help advocate for you. The Wyland Law Group will stand for you in the face of daunting DUI-related costs. Call us today at (412) 710-0013 to schedule a free consultation.
Leave A Comment